Meet South Africa’s 2016 car of the year winner

Meet South Africa’s 2016 car of the year winner

MOTORING NEWS – South Africa’s 2016 Wesbank Car of the Year (CoTY) was announced at a gala dinner at Emperor’s Palace, Gauteng on Tuesday night.

The competition comprised 12 finalists, following a vote by members of the South African Guild of Motoring Journalists (SAGMJ).

The winner on the evening was the Volvo XC90 SUV, followed by the Ford Fusion, while the Mazda2 took third place.

The Porsche Macan S Diesel won the 2015 prize for best car in SA.

According to IOL, the new scoring system for 2016 focused on categories, rather than giving each individual car an overall score as had been the case in the past.

The categories included: interior design & practicality, exterior aesthetics, safety & technology, performance, handling & dynamics, efficiency, value for money and overall excellence.

The judging panel consisted of 26 motoring journalists.